

Democracy and Standards Committee North Northamptonshire Council Tuesday 15th June 2021 At 7:00 pm in the Council Chamber, The Cube, George Street, Corby.

Members in Attendance:

Councillor Lora Lawman (Chair), Councillor Macaulay Nichol, Councillor Lyn Buckingham, Councillor Emily Fedorowycz, Councillor Kirk Harrison, Councillor Gill Mercer and Councillor Michael Tye.

Officers in Attendance:

Adele Wylie (Monitoring Officer), Paul Goult (Democratic Services Manager), Carol Mundy, (Senior Democratic Services Officer), Charlie Christmas (Democratic Services Officer)

01 Apologies for Absence

There were no apologies submitted.

02 Member's Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest made.

03 Notifications to address the Committee

There were no requests to address the Committee on this occasion.

04 Terms of reference for the Democracy and Standards Committee

The circulated report of the monitoring officer was received along with the appended Terms of Reference for the Democracy and Standards committee.

The Monitoring Officer presented the report to committee and informed members that a boundary review was taking place, and to enable a response to be submitted it may be necessary to reschedule the meeting due to be held on 10 August. She would keep members appraised of this.

A councillor referenced the terms of conditions and asked if the Independent Remuneration Panel review would fall under the committee and if so whether it should be added to the terms of reference. The Monitoring Officer confirmed that it would be the best place for it to be considered and she would include this.

The Monitoring Officer also referenced the training plan and confirmed that the current training was induction training, and that future training would be tailored to members requirements and that personal development plans would be developed with specialist training for councillors and for committee members.

Members queried the location of the meetings, which were scheduled to be held at The Corby Cube and that meetings would sometimes clash with town and parish council meetings. Mr Goult, Interim Democratic Services Manager, responded to explain that all the council buildings across the North were being used for meetings, he also explained that the timetable of meeting dates had been presented to Annual Council and that it had been difficult to fit all meetings into the schedule. Generally, town and parish councils met on different evenings throughout the North, and this was not limited to a Tuesday. If a Member was unable to attend a meeting, they could always ask their substitute to step in.

RESOLVED that: -

(i) the Terms of Reference for the Democracy and Standards Committee be noted with the inclusion of the Independent Remuneration Panel review.

05 Constitutional Working Group

The circulated report of the monitoring officer was received along with the appended proposed terms of reference for the Constitutional Working Group.

The Monitoring Officer presented the report to committee and informed members that the first meeting of the Constitutional Working Group scheduled for 21 June had been postponed and would be rescheduled.

Members considered that the number of members appointed to the working party should be increased to reflect political balance and suggested that this be increased to four Conservative councillors, one Labour and one Green Alliance. All members agreed that this was acceptable. It was also agreed that Councillor Lora Lawman be appointed as chairman of the working group and that Councillors Gill Mercer, Kirk Harrison, Macauley Nichol, Emily Fedorowyck and Lyn Buckingham be appointed to the working group.

The Monitoring Officer explained how the group would work and asked members to let her know of any topics for discussion at the first meeting. Councillor Buckingham asked for a review of the decision relating to the chairing of Scrutiny Committee.

RESOLVED that:

- (i) the Terms of Reference for the Constitutional Working Group be approved;
- (ii) the membership of the Constitutional Working Group be increased to six councillors, four Conservative, one Labour and one Green Alliance;
- (iii) Councillor Lora Lawman be appointed as Chair of the Constitutional Working Group for 2021/22 and that Councillors Macauley Nichol, Kirk Harrison, Gill Mercer, Lyn Buckingham and Emily Fedorowycz be appointed to the working group for 2021/22.

06 Appointment of Town and Parish Representatives

The circulated report of the Monitoring Officer was received in relation to the process required for the appointment of town and parish council representatives to sit on the Democracy and Standards Committee. Appended to the report was the draft appointment procedure and relevant extract from the Democracy and Standards Committee's terms of reference.

The Monitoring Officer presented the report to committee and confirmed that any town or parish representatives would be appointed until May 2025, or until they resigned or were disqualified to serve. Serving North Northamptonshire Council Members, who were also town or parish councillors, would be disqualified from applying for these positions. The Monitoring Officer explained that these representatives would have extensive training to carry out their role on the committee.

RESOLVED that: -

(i) approval be given to implement the appointment procedure as detailed in the appendix to the report.

07 Close of Meeting

The meeting closed at 7:30pm.

CHAIR

DATE